Dr. Philip LeBoit, who trained under the late Dr. Bernard Ackerman, founded the UCSF Dermatopathology Service in 1987. His vision was clear: to merge expert diagnoses with superior customer service. Dr. Timothy McCalmont joined the Service as Co-Director in 1991. Together, Drs. LeBoit and McCalmont are widely recognized as two of the top physicians in their field. They have served as editors and contributors to major medical journals, and have written and edited many books and articles. Both have received a number of prestigious awards for professional excellence.

With addition of Dr. Kari Connolly in 1995, the service expanded to include an immunofluorescence unit. A Molecular Lab was later added under the direction of Dr. Boris Bastian. Drs. Ursula Lang, Thaddeus Mully, Jeffrey NorthLaura Pincus, and Iwei Yeh all play integral roles in our day-to-day business. The service would not be complete without their individual contributions. Each of our board-certified dermatopathologists and oral pathologists bring a unique background, talent, and expertise to our group.

In 2013, with the merger of UCSF Dermatopathology and UCSF Oral Pathology, our services expanded to include oral & maxillofacial pathology. Dr. Richard Jordan is an internationally recognized diagnostic pathologist with almost 30 years of experience in the field.  Boarded in both oral & maxillofacial pathology and oral medicine, he has particular expertise in the diagnosis of salivary gland and odontogenic tumors in addition to a keen interest in the diagnosis of soft tissue and bone pathology. He is recently joined by Dr. Kyle Jones.